What do I choose when I am prompted to Keep Blocking, Unblock, or Ask Me Later?
Depending on which program it is and what you know about the program determines which option you select.
When Windows Firewall is protecting the computer and a program tries to make an Internet or network connection, the connection is blocked and a Windows Security Alert message similar to the following may appear:
The Windows Security Alert gives you the following options:
- Keep Blocking - Used to prevent the program from ever accepting connections without your permission. For example, if a program that you have never heard of is trying to make an Internet connection, you would typically select Keep Blocking to block the program.
- Unblock - Used only if you know why the program is asking to accept connections to your computer, or if you know that the program is trustworthy. If you choose to unblock the program, Windows Firewall creates an exception for that program to allow it to communicate through the firewall. The firewall will not notify you when that program wants to receive connections in the future. When you close the program, the temporary opening in your firewall is also closed. For example, if you start a game and try to play on the Internet, you would typically select Unblock so you can play the game. You will not be prompted the next time you play the game after making this selection.
- Ask Me Later - Used if you do not know whether to permanently block or unblock the program. This option keeps the program blocked (for greater security), and you will see this message again the next time that you start the program. For example, if you are using a new program for the first time and you are unsure if it should make an Internet connection, you would typically select Ask Me Later.
Note: These Windows Security Alert messages may not appear under certain circumstances.
- If the Display a notification when Windows Firewall blocks a program check box is cleared on the Exceptionstab of Windows Firewall.
- If the Don't allow exceptions check box is selected on the Generaltab of Windows Firewall. You will not receive this message because the firewall will not allow any communications regardless of other settings you might have made.
- A Group Policy is in place.